Search

Blue Origin successfully and safely completes second human flight to space and back

OCTOBER 13, 10:30 AM CDT / 15:30 UTC

Blue Origin successfully completed its second human spaceflight on board New Shepard on Wednesday, October 13, 2021. The flight included four astronauts, Dr. Chris Boshuizen, Glen de Vries, Audrey Powers, and William Shatner, as well as thousands of postcards from Blue Origin’s foundation, Club for the Future.

human flight
The crew of NS-18. Pictured left to right: Glen de Vries, Audrey Powers, William Shatner, and Dr. Chris Boshuizen. Image: Blue Origin

Now official astronauts, the crew was welcomed back from space with a celebration in the West Texas desert with family, friends, and the Blue Origin team.

Second Human Space Flight

“At Blue Origin, we are motivated by the dreamers that inspire us and the builders who turn those dreams into reality. Today’s crew represented both dreamers and builders. We had the honor of flying our very own Audrey Powers, Vice President of New Shepard Operations, who fulfilled a lifelong dream to go to space and has been an integral part of building New Shepard. Our two customers, Chris Boshuizen and Glen de Vries, have built their own successful ventures and have now realized their own dreams of space travel. And, as everyone knows, William Shatner has played an important role in describing and imagining the wonders of universe and inspired many of us to pursue a career in the space industry,” said Bob Smith, CEO Blue Origin. “This flight was another step forward in flying astronauts safely and often. It’s an incredible team and we are just getting started.”

Blue Origin is planning one more crewed flight this year, with several more crewed flights planned for 2022. Blue Origin is asking if you are interested in flying on New Shepard, please visit our website. If you are interested in purchasing a commemorative patch or other merchandise, head to the Blue Origin Shop.

Key Mission Statistics:

  • Crew capsule apogee: 347,539 ft AGL / 351,186 ft MSL (106 km AGL / 107 km MSL)
  • Booster apogee: 347,160 ft AGL / 350,807 ft MSL (106 km AGL / 107 km MSL)
  • Official launch time: 9:49 AM CDT / 14:49 UTC
  • CC Landing Time: 9:59 AM CDT / 14:59 UTC
  • Mission elapsed time: 10 min 17 sec
  • Max ascent velocity: 2,235 mph / 3,597 km/h

Source: Blue Origin

https://tnc.network/science/

Related posts

Please Comments and Share

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: